Skip to main content

Entomology and Nematology Department

Entomology and Nematology Department

Faculty Directory

Our main campus is located in Gainesville, Florida, however many of our faculty and students are located in UF/IFAS Research and Education Centers (REC) around the state. Below you will find all of our faculty. To see graduate students in Gainesville and statewide, as well as staff and post-doctoral fellows associated with our Gainesville campus, please visit the People tab at the top of the page.

To search for a REC faculty member by location, click here.

 

Administrators

 


Dr. Blair D. Siegfried
Professor and
Department Chair
Insect Toxicology
(352) 273-3970
bsiegfried1@ufl.edu

Dr. Heather McAuslane
Dr. Heather McAuslane

Professor,
Associate Chair, and
Graduate Coordinator
Chemical Ecology
(352) 273-3923
hjmca@ufl.edu

Dr. Rebecca Baldwin
Dr. Rebecca Baldwin
Associate Professor
and Undergraduate
Coordinator
Urban IPM and
Outreach Director
(352) 273-3974
baldwinr@ufl.edu

Faculty

 

Dr. Tolulope A. Agunbiade
Dr. Tolulope A. Agunbiade
Lecturer
Biosecurity and IPM
352-273-3941
bwaldo@ufl.edu

Dr. Barry Alto
Dr. Barry W. Alto

Associate Professor
Medical Entomology, Arbovirology
(772) 778-7200 ext. 153
bwalto@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Anthony Auletta
Dr. Anthony Auletta
Lecturer
Arthropod Biology
(352) 273-3953
anthonyauletta@ufl.edu

Dr. Brian Bahder
Dr. Brian Bahder
Assistant Professor
Insect Vector Ecology
(954) 577-6305
bbahder@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. Julien Beuzelin
Dr. Julien Beuzelin

Assistant Professor
Entomology 
(561) 993-1559
Everglades REC
jbeuzelin@ufl.edu

Dr. Jeff Bloomquist
Dr. Jeffrey Bloomquist
Professor
Insecticide Toxicology
Emerging Pathogens
Institute
(352) 273-9417
jbquist@epi.ufl.edu

Dr. Bryony Bonning
Dr. Bryony C. Bonning
Professor
Eminent Scholar 
(352) 273-3984
bbonning@ufl.edu

Dr. Marc A. Branham
Dr. Marc A. Branham
Associate Professor
Insect Systematics
and Taxonomy
(352) 273-3915
marcbran@ufl.edu

Dr. Eva Buckner
Dr. Eva Buckner

Assistant Professor
Medical Entomology
Extension
(772) 226-6606
eva.buckner@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Nathan Burkett_Cadena
Dr. Nathan Burkett-Cadena
Assistant Professor
Mosquito Ecology
Biology of
Disease Hosts
(772) 778-7200 ext. 141
nburkettcadena@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Campbell Lindsay
Dr. Lindsay Campbell

Assistant Professor
Mosquito Ecology
(772) 226-6666
lcampbell2@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Daniel Carrillo
Dr. Daniel Carrillo

Assistant Professor
Management of Tropical
and Invasive Pests
(786) 217-9245
dancar@ufl.edu
Homestead TREC

Dr. Ronald Cave
Dr. Ronald Cave
Professor
Biological Control
(772) 468-3922 ext. 145
rdcave@ufl.edu
Fort Pierce IRREC

Dr. Ronald Cherry
Dr. Ronald Cherry

Professor
Pest Management on Sugarcane,
Rice, and Turfgrass
(561) 993-1529
rcherry@ufl.edu
Belle Glade EREC

Dr. Chao Chen
Dr. Chao Chen

Assistant Research
Scientist
Entomology
(352) 273-3949 
chaochen88@ufl.edu

Dr, Thomas Chouvenc
Dr. Thomas Chouvenc

Assistant Professor
Urban Entomology
(954) 577-6320
tomchouv@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. Billy Crow
Dr. Billy Crow
Professor
Landscape Nematology
(352) 273-3941
wtcr@ufl.edu

Dr. James Cuda
Dr. James Cuda
Professor
Biological Control
(352) 273-3921
jcuda@ufl.edu

Dr. Adam Dale
Dr. Adam Dale
Assistant Professor
Turfgrass and Ornamental Entomology
(352) 273-3976
agdale@ufl.edu

Jaret Daniels
Dr. Jaret Daniels
Associate Professor
Lepidoptera Research, Insect Conservation
(352) 273-3916
jcdnls@ufl.edu

Dr. Johan Desaeger
Dr. Johan Desaeger

Assistant Professor
Nematology
(352) 273-3938
dwd@ufl.edu
Balm GCREC

Dr. Lauren Diepenbrock
Dr. Lauren Diepenbrock

Assistant Professor 
Entomology
(863) 956-1151
ldiepenbrock@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Peter DiGennaro
Dr. Peter DiGennaro
Assistant Professor 
Molecular Nematology
(352) 273-3959
pdigennaro@ufl.edu

Dr. Larry Duncan
Dr. Larry Duncan

Professor
Nematology
(863) 956-8821
lwduncan@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Jamie Ellis
Dr. Jamie Ellis
Gahan Endowed Professor
Honey Bee Extension and Research
(352) 273-3924
jdellis@ufl.edu

Dr. Joeseph Funderburk
Dr. Joseph Funderburk
Professor
IPM on Field Crops
(850) 875-7100 ext. 146
jef@ufl.edu
Quincy NFREC

Dr. Robin Giblin-Davis
Dr. Robin Giblin-Davis

Acting Director
and Professor
Nematology
(954) 577-6333
giblin@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. Jennifer Gillett-Kaufman
Dr. Jennifer Gillett-Kaufman
Extension Scientist
Integrated Pest
Management, Olives
(352) 273-3950
gillett@ufl.edu

Dr. Zane Grabau
Dr. Zane J. Grabau
Assistant Professor
Nematology
(352) 273-3983
zgrabau@ufl.edu

Dr. Dan Hahn
Dr. Dan Hahn
Professor
Insect Physiology
(352) 273-3968
dahahn@ufl.edu

Dr. Amanda Hodges
Dr. Amanda Hodges
DPM Director
Invasive Species
and Biosecurity
(352) 273-3957
achodges@ufl.edu

Dr. Jiri Hulcr
Dr. Jiri Hulcr
Assistant Professor
Ambrosia Symbiotic
Complex
(352) 273-0299
hulcr@ufl.edu

Cameron Jack
Cameron Jack
Apiculture Lecturer and 
Distance Education
Coordinator
(352) 294-6926
cjack@ufl.edu

Dr. Phillip Kaufman
Dr. Phillip Kaufman
Professor
Veterinary Entomology
(352) 273-3975
pkaufman@ufl.edu

Dr. William Kern
Dr. William Kern
Associate Professor
Urban Entomology
(954) 577-6329
whk@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. Philip Koehler
Dr. Philip Koehler

Endowed Professor
Urban Entomology
(352) 392-2484
pgk@ufl.edu

Dr. Lahiri Sriyanka
Dr. Sriyanka Lahiri 
Assistant Professor
Small Fruit Crops
Entomology
(813) 419-6585
lahiris@ufl.edu
Balm GCREC

Dr. Norm Leppla
Dr. Norman Leppla
Professor and
IPM Coordinator
IPM, Biological Control
(352) 273-3951
ncleppla@ufl.edu

Dr. Oscar Liburd
Dr. Oscar Liburd
Professor
Fruit and Vegetable IPM
(352) 273-3918
oeliburd@ufl.edu

Dr. Cynthia Lord
Dr. Cynthia Lord

Associate Professor
Population Dynamics
(772) 778-7200 ext. 157
clord@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Andrea Lucky
Dr. Andrea Lucky
Assistant Professor
Insect Systematics
(352) 273-3952
alucky@ufl.edu

Dr. Rachel Mallinger
Dr. Rachel Mallinger

Assistant Professor
Pollinator Ecology
and Conservation
(352) 273-3962
rachel.mallinger@ufl.edu

Dr. Catharine Mannion
Dr. Catharine Mannion

Professor
Ornamental Pests/IPM
(786) 217-9241
cmannion@ufl.edu
Homestead TREC

Dr. Xavier Martini
Dr. Xavier Martini
Assistant Professor
Biology and Evolution
(863) 956-8853
xmartini@ufl.edu
Quincy NFREC

Dr. Derrick Mathias
Dr. Derrick Mathias

Assistant Professor
Mosquito/Arbovirus
Biology
(772) 778-7200 
d.mathias@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Christine Miller
Dr. Christine Miller

Associate Professor
Behavior and Evolution
(352) 273-3917
cwmiller@ufl.edu

Dr. Carey Minteer
Dr. Carey Minteer
Assistant Professor
Behavior and Evolution
(772) 577-7379
c.minteerkillian@ufl.edu
Fort Pierce IRREC

Dr. Gregg Nuessly
Dr. Gregg Nuessly

Center Director
and Professor
Biological Control,
Vegetable Insect IPM
(561) 993-1559
gnuessly@ufl.edu
Everglades REC

Dr. Faith Oi
Dr. Faith Oi

Associate Extension
Scientist
Urban Entomology
(352) 273-3971
foi@ufl.edu

Dr. Lance Osborne
Dr. Lance Osborne
Professor
Biological Control;
Vegetable Insect IPM
(407) 884-2034 ext. 163
lsosborn@ufl.edu
Apopka MREC

Dr. Silvana V. Paula-Moraes
Dr. Silvana V. Paula-Moraes

Assistant Professor
Crop Pest Management
(850) 983-7101
paula.moraes@ufl.edu
West Florida REC

Dr. Kirsten Pelz-Stelinski
Dr. Kirsten Pelz-Stelinski

Associate Professor
Insect-Microbe
Interactions,
Vector Biology
(863) 956-8666
pelzstelinski@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Roberto Pereira
Dr. Roberto Pereira
Research Scientist
Urban Entomology
(352) 273-2485
rpereira@ufl.edu

Dr. Dorota Porazinska
Dr. Dorota Porazinska

Assistant Professor
Nematode Ecology
and Soil Microbiomes
(352) 273-2936
dorotalp@ufl.edu

Dr. Jawwad Qureshi
Dr. Jawwad Qureshi

Assistant Professor
Entomology and
Nematology
(772) 577-7339
jawwadq@ufl.edu
Fort Pierce IRREC

Dr. Larry Reeves
Dr. Lawrence Reeves
Assistant Research Scientist
Mosquito Biology and Ecology
(772) 778-7200 Ext. 137 
lereeves@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Jorge Rey
Dr. Jorge Rey

Center Director
and Professor
Wetlands Ecology
(772) 778-7200 ext. 136
jrey@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Mike Rogers
Dr. Michael Rogers

Associate Professor
Center Director
and Professor
IPM, Citrus Insects
(863) 956-8801
mrgrs@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Rudolf Scheffrahn
Dr. Rudolf Scheffrahn
Professor
Biology and Control
of Termites
(954) 577-6312
rhsc@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. akshina Seal
Dr. Dakshina Seal

Associate Research
Scientist
IPM, Insect Pests of
Vegetable Crops
(786) 217-9269
dseal3@ufl.edu
Homestead TREC

Dr. Chelsea Smartt
Dr. Chelsea Smartt
Associate Professor
Molecular Entomology
Medical Entomology
(772) 778-7200 ext. 156
ctsmart@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Hugh Smith
Dr. Hugh Smith

Associate Professor
IPM of Vegetable Crops
(813) 633-4124
hughasmith@ufl.edu
Balm GCREC

Dr. Lukasz Stelinski
Dr. Lukasz Stelinski

Professor
Insect-Microbe
Interactions
Vector Biology
(863) 956-8851
pelzstelinski@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Nan-Yao Su
Dr. Nan-Yao Su
Distinguished Professor
Biology and Control
of Termites, 
Structural and
Household Pests
(954) 577-6339
nysu@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. Lisa Taylor
Dr. Lisa Taylor

Assistant Research
Scientist
Behavioral Ecology
(352) 273-3937
lisa.taylor@ufl.edu

Dr. Jennifer Weeks
Dr. Jennifer Weeks

Lecturer
Ecology
(352) 273-3955
jenweeks1@ufl.edu

Adam C.N. Wong
Dr. Adam C.N. Wong
Assistant Professor
Insect-Microbe
Interactions
Molecular Entomology
(352) 273-3977
adamcnwong@ufl.edu