Even though newspaper reporters may write about "the mole cricket",
there is no such insect. Instead, there are now 10 mole cricket species
in the continental USA, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

They are called here the northern mole cricket, the western mole cricket,
the prairie mole cricket, the European mole cricket, the oriental mole cricket,
the short-winged mole cricket, the southern mole cricket, the West Indian mole cricket
(or changa), the imitator mole cricket, and the tawny mole cricket.
They differ in appearance, distribution, behavior, pest status, life-cycle,
seasonality, and susceptibility to specific biological control agents.

Please explore our site links to learn more about mole crickets.